Saturday, February 06, 2016
Text Size


College of Science COE 2016

image image image image
Dr. Mahar Lagmay - Keynote Speaker Dr. Alfredo Mahar Francisco A. Lagmay is a Professor at the National Institute of Geological Sciences, University of the Philippines and is the Executive Director of the DOST Nationwide Operational Assessment of Hazards (NOAH, DOST’s flagship program for disaster risk reduction and management). 
Tan, 2016 Novartis Fellow Assoc. Prof. Mario A. Tan, PhD of the Chemistry Department was selected 2016 Novartis Next Generation Scientist Program Fellow. Tan is one of the only two awardees from the Philippines. The award follows after undergoing a screening preceded by a nomination from
Dela Cruz is 2015 Metrobank Outstanding Teacher Awardee Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Thomas Edison E. dela Cruz was adjudged one of the 2015 Metrobank outstanding teacher awardees for the Higher Education. He was chosen from among the total of 467 teachers who were nominated,
Maningas of Science is Creative Research Award (LIKHA) 1st Prize Winner Assoc. Prof. Mary Beth B. Maningas, Ph.D. of the Biological Sciences, College of Science, University of Santo Tomas was proclaimed 1st prize regional winner

College of Science, UST

Math and Physics of Science holds the 18th PMO

Math olympiad 240pxThe Department of Mathematics and Physics of the College of Science hosted the 18th Philippine Mathematical Olympiad (PMO) National Finals on January 23, 2016 at the AMV Multipurpose Hall, College of Accountancy. The Philippine Mathematical Olympiad, which is the major undertaking of the Mathematical Society of the Philippines, is held every year to choose the Philippines’ representatives to the International Mathematics Olympiad which will be held in Hongkong sometime in July.

Read more: Math and Physics of Science holds the 18th PMO


Copepodologist lectures at UST

TomislavIn recent years, the University of Santo Tomas has led efforts to document the diversity of freshwater copepods throughout the country which resulted in recent publications on this previously understudied taxon. In order to further improve UST’s capabilities in this specialized field, the university, through the the UST RCNAS Zooplankton Ecology, Systematics and Limnology (ZESL) research group headed by Dr. Rey Donne S. Papa, invited copepod expert Dr. Tomislav Karanovic, Assistant Professor at the Sungkyunkwan University in South Korea and editor for free-living Copepoda for the ISI journal Zootaxa to deliver a lecture entitled “Copepods in studies of dispersal strategies and habitat invasions: Global, regional and microscale”.

Read more: Copepodologist lectures at UST


Science holds general assembly for scholars

scholars thumbnailWith the aim of assessing the scholars’ needs and making them enjoy student life while fulfilling their academic endeavor, the College of Science Scholarship Committee initiated the holding of the 2nd General Assembly of Science scholars. This was held January 23, 2016 at Blas Hall.


Read more: Science holds general assembly for scholars


Faculty in the news

Top Headline
Martin appointed College Secretary

“Just like any job, it requires hard work and determination. Alongside these should be good intention, order, commitment, and guidance from God.” These are the words of Assoc. Prof. Mary C. Martin, M.Sc., the new College Secretary as the College...

TEAM MOM Goes to Samar & Leyte

Teacher Enrichment Activity in Microbiology: Mentoring Our Mentors (TEAM MOM), the Fungal Biodiversity and Systematics (FBS) group of UST RCNAS conducted a two-day training for 30 teachers from 23 high schools in the provinces of Samar and Leyte on April...

Banag earns PhD

Asst. Prof. Cecilia Banag, Dr. rer. nat, completed her doctorate degree last December 2014 at the University of Bayreuth, Bayreuth, Germany under the scholarship grants from the Philippine Commission on Higher Education (CHED) and Katholischer Akademischer...



Internationalization banner 640x76

Functional International Linkages



Assoc. Prof. Bernard John V. Tongol, Ph.D. of the Chemistry Department of the College of Science participated in the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE) Satellite Meeting on New Devices for Energy Conversion and Storage through a poster presentation.

Read on


SW2016 graphics 2 500px

Degree Programs

UST College-of-Science Degree Programs

New CHED Appointments

The COLLEGE OF SCIENCE  congratulates the faculty members appointed to CHED Technical Committees:

Dr. Fortunato SevillaDr. Fortunato Sevilla III - Chair, CHED Technical Committee for Chemistry (12 January 2015 to 31 December 2016)

Dr. Claudette Agnes

Dr. Ma. Claudette Agnes - Chair, CHED Technical Committee for Psychology (12 January 2015 to 31 December 2016)

Dr. Maribel NonatoDr. Maribel G. Nonato - Member, CHED Technical Committee for Chemistry (12 January 2015 to 31 December 2016)

Dr. Mary Beth ManingasDr. Mary Beth Maningas - Member, CHED Technical Committee for Marine Science (12 January 2015 to 31 December 2016)

Dr. John Donnie RamosDr. John Donnie A. Ramos - Member, CHED Technical Committee for Biology and Molecular Biology (12 January 2015 to 31 December 2016)

Dr. Jaycee PaguiriganDr. Augusto Jaycee Paguirigan - Member, CHED Regional Quality Assessment Team (RQAT) for CHEDRO IV-A (AY 2014-2015)


galing science

College Poster 2016

science college updated Jan 2016

Latest Tweets

College Calendar 2015

calendar graphic grey 250px



OVRAA Recognition


Center of Development


facebook-icon-round   twitter-round   mail to:  Eleap site: Ust - College of Science Faculty Portal