Wednesday, May 24, 2017
Text Size


Science lauds graduating student achievers

Achievers 02On June 3, 2016, the College of Science as it held its Solemn Investiture 2016 at the Quadricentennial Pavilion at 7:00 in the morning acknowledged the students who have shown loyalty, leadership, academic, and other exemplary accomplishments. Some graduating students are recipients of Loyalty Award, Ramsee Henson Leadership Award, Benavides Outstanding Achievement Award (Individual and Group categories, College and University Levels); Quezon Leadership Award- College Level, Lulu dela Rosa Award, and Academic Excellence Award.

Loyalty awardees who obtained both their secondary and tertiary education at the University of Santo Tomas are the following: Marc Julius V. Adriano, Kristianni O. Bance, Terrence Julian B. Pestaño, and Ghianne Carla B. Magbitang. The three awardees are BS Psychology students except Magbitang who is from the BS Biology program.

The College of Science Student Council President for the school year 2015-2016, Anthony Jacque R. Sangco is the recipient of Ramsee Henson Leadership Award. This award which started in 1991 is given in commemoration of the late Ramon Alfonso Henson who earned his bachelor’s degree in the College of Science in 1990.

Sangco is distinguished for his outstanding leadership as manifested in the multifarious activities he organized for the welfare of the students of the College. Worth mentioning are Piso Paaral Program, Galing Science Para sa Science, and other community development activities. Student leaders were also trained by the Council through the holding of leadership trainings and seminars.

Achievers 03The Benavides Outstanding Achievement Award is given among students whose performance in the regional, national, and international levels bespeaks of excellence. For the college level, both the group and the individual categories are acknowledged. The awardees for the group category are Ma. Divina Corazon Ortiz, Emmanuel Rumbaoa, and Rency Mae Silvestre, who composed the UST Psychology Quiz Bee team, the first runner up out of more than 40 participating schools from the Philippines during the Interschool Psychology Quiz Competition held January 22, 2016 at SMX Convention Center, Pasay City sponsored by the Psychological Association of the Philippines- Junior Affiliates.

For the individual category, the four recipients are from the BS Applied Physics program. They are Michelle Femalyn Granado, Jericha Cher Iglesia, Victoria Louise Quilatan, and Jason Mactal. Granado and Iglesia both had their internship at Chung Yuan University in Taiwan. They were also plenary speakers in the 17th National Physics Conference held in Cavite sponsored by the Samahang Pisika ng Visayas at Mindanao (SPVM). Quilatan, who was also one of the sub-plenary speakers in the SPVM confab served as an intern at National Central University, Taiwan. She experienced working at CERN, Geneva, Switzerland. In February 2016, she was invited to attend lectures and did some exercises at CMS Data Analysis School (CMSDAsia), Taipei, Taiwan. Meanwhile, Mactal also attended and became one of the speakers in the 16th SPVM national conference. He served as an intern at the Institute of Physics, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan. His achievement also included his becoming the Top 6 in the BPI-DOST Science Awards.

For the university level, the recipients of the Benavides Outstanding Achievement Award are Eleanore Flordeliz C. Stohner from the Biology Department and Jerome Alan S. Japitana from the Chemistry Department. Stohner was a delegate in the following conferences: Philippine Model Congress 2015, Senate of the Philippines, Pasay City; Global Youth Summit, MOA Arena, Pasay City; and 10th Aboitiz Future Leaders Business Summit held in Cebu City with the theme, “A Decade of Building Future Leaders”. She saw her attendance in the business summit as an opportunity to reevaluate her principles as a student leader. She said that it made her realize “how the youth can be catalysts towards significantly changing the Philippines.”

Achievers 04Meanwhile, Japitana, who had his summer internship at West-Ward Pharmaceuticals, one of the biggest providers of generic pharmaceutical drugs in the USA on May-July 2015, was treated a full-time employee in the quality control section and received an exceptional evaluation from his immediate supervisor as validated by the overall Quality Control Director. His greatest accomplishment was when he became the recipient of the 2016 BPI-DOST Science Awards Best in Basic Research and Best Project of the Year Award, the first in the history of UST-Science.

For the Quezon Leadership Award which is given to a deserving officer of a duly recognized organization of the university, the president of Math Society 2015-2016 earned it whose leadership ability was exemplified by organizing various events like the following: Leadership Training for UST Math Society, Junior Officer Program for UST Math Society, “Diamonds 2015,” a seminar for all recognized student organization finance officers, “Makibata 2016,” a 3-day community development activity, and “Pitagoras 2015,” the 8th high school Math quiz bee tournament with 18 different high school institutions competing. She is Mary Margaret Operario.

The graduating students who earned the highest GWA in the different degree programs were also acknowledged as Academic Excellence Awardees. Following are the awardees with their corresponding degree programs and GWAs: Ma. Crisnalli Umali (BS Applied Math, 1.522), Jason Mactal (BS Applied Physics, 1.417), Alyssa Charisse Capuchino (BS Biology, 1.375), Jerome Alan Japitana (BS Chemistry, 1.246), Mark B. Carascal (BS Microbiology, 1.220), and Kathleen Kaye Madriano (BS Psychology, 1.272).

Among the graduates, Carascal received the highest scholastic rating (1.220). Thus, he became the Rector’s Academic awardee. He is also the recipient of the Lulu dela Rosa Award for Communication, having served as seminar facilitator/speaker, debater, university-wide champion in the essay writing contest, and researcher.

Achievers 05

facebook-icon-round   twitter-round   mail to:  Eleap site: Ust - College of Science Faculty Portal